Create New or Edit Revit Attribute Configuration

General


In order to create a new, or edit an existing, Attribute Configuration, open the configuration editor by selecting the "Edit" button against the type of Configuration you would like to work on (refer below).

Note: In order to edit or delete these configurations, the User will need to have Project Administrator Rights in the dRofus project.



The following dialog will then appear for (for e.g.) Room <-> Revit Room type of configuration:


The above dialog has three main areas:

Top-left section: This is a list of all the available dRofus Attributes that you can synchronize data to / from (which have not already been mapped within the current configuration).

Top-right section: This is a list of all the available Revit Parameters (Built-in, Project or Shared) that you can synchronize data to / from (which have not already been mapped within the current configuration).

Common for both lists above is that if the Attribute or Parameter has a (question) after it, you can hover your mouse over the name to get a description of that Attribute or Parameter. If the Attribute or Parameter is in half tone, it means that it is a read-only and therefore can only be used to synchronize data from and not to.

Bottom section: This is a list of all the mapped dRofus Attributes <-> Revit Parameters within the current configuration.

You can also set "Configuration properties":

  • Available to users: If this is checked all Users can see / use this configuration. If it is not checked, only those Users who have Project Administrator Rights can view / use this configuration.
  • Is default configuration: If this is checked, it means that this configuration will be the default configuration for all Users. In the above e.g. for Rooms - the configuration called "Revit Rooms - Update" will be the default configuration for linking, placing and synchronization of Rooms for all Users unless any User chooses another configuration to be the active one.

    In addition, General Users can setup User-based default configurations for each configuration type within the Attribute Configuration Settings dialog, so that henceforth an alternate configuration will override as the default configuration for each configuration type for that particular User.

Create a new configuration by clicking on either "New" or (to create a new configuration based on the currently selected configuration) "Copy". To delete an existing configuration, select the configuration within the "Choose Configuration" drop-down menu, then click on "Delete". To rename an existing configuration, select the configuration within the "Choose Configuration" drop-down menu, then click on "Rename". Note that the configuration named "Default" cannot be edited, deleted or renamed, but you can create your own version of this by selecting it and clicking on "Copy".